Halloween

Halloween in our house was a real battle for me!!

The idea of knocking on our neighbors doors and asking for lollies doesn’t sit well with me. Mainly because our neighbors don’t celebrate Halloween and normally ignore people knocking on doors on Halloween. Yhis isn’t because they are all grumpy and grinchs this is because for the whole time they have lived in our street we have always had bucket loads of kids who aren’t from our street come to our area and trick or treat. Most of the time the kids would be wearing a mask or a cape and that was it. There was no effort put in and when you get kids coming to your door asking for lollies and there is no effort put in you really don’t want to give them lollies. This year I watched 2 cars drive down our road drop kids off and leave!!!

It also played on my mind how you explain to a 4 year old that you don’t take food from people you don’t know (which I have had to explain to Maia already as we go camping at a camp ground and over Easter people gave her Easter eggs which I then had to break her heart and say she couldn’t eat it because I had no idea who gave it to her while she was playing on the play ground) however on Halloween you can go and knock on peoples doors and ask for lollies and take them even though you don’t know them, I know this is very much over thinking it but it went through my mind!

I also have a problem with giving sugar laden food out to kids when I don’t agree with eating it. So I finally came up with solution that meant we weren’t door knocking but Maia still got to dress up and see all the other people dressed up. We stayed home and Maia was allowed to give the lollies out to the kids and she got to keep a few herself also. We got a couple of packets of Double D lollies which are sugar free. They still out perfect whole foods obviously but it was a happy medium for me, I thought about making treats for the kids but then realised I won’t let Maia eat something that I had no idea what was in it and that was made by someone I didn’t know. We do however have a couple of very cute families that live on our street who came trick or treating and bought Maia some treats which was very cute and so lovely. Maia ate the first one the second she could get into it and the second one before breakfast this morning.

Next year however we are going to have a Halloween BBQ with a few friends the kids can dress up and eat treats that we know what is in them (we have a good friend who is celiac so she couldn’t go because gluten is in weird weird places now days). Ill probably do a treasure hunt with little toys and maybe a couple of little treats, this way the parents get to enough the night and the kids have fun without the worry of who is giving what out.

20171031_163326

Leave a comment